Skip to Content

Undergrad Degree Programs (2002-2012)

Admission

The School of Journalism and Mass Communication admission policy is as follows:
Any student admitted to Texas State may declare and be admitted to the program under a temporary status called pre-mass communication at any time by meeting with an academic advisor. Students who have accumulated at least 30 credit hours and meet the requirements outlined below will be admitted in major status. Students who fail to meet the requirements will not be admitted to the major.

  • A letter grade of a "C" or better in the following courses or their equivalents: ENG 1310, ENG 1320, COMM 1310, and MC 1301
  • An overall GPA of at least a 2.5 on a 4.0 scale
  • A passing score on the school's Punctuation, Usage and Grammar (PUG) test or a letter grade of a "C" or better in MC 1100B

 

Degree Programs

The major in mass communication blends both theoretical and technical principles and concepts.  The university’s general education core lays the foundation for a broad liberal arts education that the major is built upon.  The underlying assumption is that the best media professionals are those with a strong liberal arts education and an overlay of professional skills.

We offer five degrees in Mass Communication:

  • Advertising
  • Electronic Media
  • Mass Communication (General)
  • Journalism
  • Public Relations


All Bachelors degrees in Mass Communication include 5-6 components:

  • General education requirements (core curriculum)
  • Support course requirements
  • a minor
  • Mass Communication Core
  • Mass Communication major
  • Electives (if needed)

 

Other Requirements

  1. General education core curriculum options should be discussed with a Mass Communication academic advisor. Requirements and choices are listed in the University College section of the catalog.
  2. Our degrees also require SOCI 3307-Statistics for Behavioral Sciences.
  3. The Puntuation, Usage and Grammar (PUG) test is given by the Texas State Testing, Research-Support and Evaluation Center. The PUG test is administered weekly; call (512) 245-2276 for testing times. There is a fee of $40 per test.  There is not a limit on how many times a student can take the test.
  4. In an effort to promote the academic welfare of all Mass Communication students the school encourages all mass communication majors be academically advised each semester before they register. An advisor is available year-round to assist all Mass Communication students with academic issues and concerns. Students should contact the College of Fine Arts and Communication Advising Center in Old Main 110 at 512-245-1932 to schedule an appointment.
  5. All students must earn a “C” or higher in the Mass Communication core (four courses), which include: MC 1301-Introduction to Mass Communication, MC 1313-Writing for the Mass Media, MC 4301-Mass Communication Law and MC 4381-Fundamentals of Digital and Online Media. 
  6. Students must earn a “C” or higher in all prerequisite courses.

 

Areas of Study within the Mass Communication Major (28 hours)

In addition to core MC courses, the school offers courses to prepare students for work within all areas of mass communication. Students may concentrate their study in Advertising, Electronic Media, Journalism or Public Relations, or elect a general Mass Communication course of study. Students must complete an additional 28 hours from one of these areas. They should see an academic advisor in the advising center for assistance in planning their area of study.