Skip to Content

Guest Lecturers and Speakers

Mark Wilson speaks to Kym Fox's MC4321 class.

Guest Lecturers

Texas State alum and breaking news reporter Mark Wilson shows students in Kym Fox’s MC4321 class how to use Facebook Live to bring the audience into the story.

Taylor Shanklin discusses her role as VP of Product Marketing and Strategy at Pursuant.

Digital Media Entrepreneurship Speaker Series

Taylor Shanklin discusses her role as VP of Product Marketing and Strategy at Pursuant.

The School of Journalism and Mass Communication makes a conscious and concerted effort to connect students and faculty with industry leaders, especially our alumni, to enhance the learning experience. These guests come to campus to speak to classes and student organizations and to serve on panels and hold workshops at SJMC-sponsored events.

2018 - 2019 Academic Year

Matthew Crowley, Digital Desk Editor, The Arizona Republic

2017 - 2018 Academic Year

Becca Aarsonson, Product Manager, Texas Tribune
Paul Alexander, News Director, KRIS-TV
Jill Ament, Producer/Reporter, Texas Standard
Efrain Aveja, Account Executive of Experience Marketing, LatinWorks
Olga Campos Benz, Community Relations Director and Author
Mike Blair, EVP, GSD&M
Jason Buch, Reporter, San Antonio Express News
Gary Boyer, Freelance Videographer, NBC, CNN & NBA

R.B. Brenner, Director, The University of Texas-Austin School of Journalism
Reggie Cajayon, Program Manager, Say What!
Chris Cantu, Senior Web Writer, SXSW
Kim Castelluccio, Digital Media Supervisor, 97 Degrees West
Kimberly Cook, Web Producer, Zenoss
Matthew Crowley, Assistant City Editor, Las Vegas Review-Journal
Patrick Curry, CEO, Farbridge
Kirsten Danis, Managing Editor, Marshall Project

Divya Darsi, Strategist, Y&R Austin
Chris Davis, Multimedia Journalist, KXAN-Austin
Hithia Davis, Library Assistant II, Alkek Library - CMES, Texas State University
Renee Dominguez, Freelancer
Hugh Forrest, Chief Programming Officer, SXSW
Alex Franco, On-Air Radio Personality, Mix 94.7
Bruce Gaultney, Former Publisher, Austin Monthly
Holly Gibson, Developer, Praxent; Executive Director, Women Who Code
Kathryn Gisi, Reporter, Spectrum News
Sidney Gomez, Instructional Trainer, Spredfast
Jeff Hahn, Owner, Hahn Communications

Ashley Hebler, Web Developer, FANS 1st Media
Erica Hernandez, Producer, KSAT 12
Thomas Hodge, Front-end Developer, Sanders\Wingo
Johnelle Huebner, Owner, Clearly Classy Events
Boyd Huppert, Reporter, KARE-TV in Minneapolis
Alicia Inns, Reporter, KXAN-Austin
Laura Jesse, Public Affairs Account Supervisor, KGRB Texas
Dalyah Jones, Assistant  Producer/Host, KUT
Lucas Lane, Account Director, McGarrah-Jessee
Stephanie Lara, Account Executive, Creative Circle
Rebecca Larson, UX Designer, USAA
Keith McMahan, Asst. News Director, WOAI-TV and KABB-TV
Carolee Mitchell, Customer and Academic Relationships, Data.World
Matt Nelson, Creator, @WeRateDogs
Tara Pohlmeyer, Engagement Coordinator, Community Impact Newspaper
Michael Quintanilla, Fashion and Feature Writer, San Antonio Express-News

Kerri Qunell, Chief Marketing Officer, Trinity Episcopal School; Adjunct Marketing Professor, St. Edward's University
Alex Reid, Account Manager, Sanders\Wingo
Shannon Rideout, Director of Communications and Community Relations
, Del Valle ISD
Penny Riordan, Director, Digital Audience Engagement, Gatehouse Media
Jordan Roberts, Senior Web Writer, SXSW
John Salazar, Reporter, Spectrum News
Hector Saldaña, Texas Music Curator, The Witliff Collections at Texas State University
David Scaliatine, Assistant Director of Marketing and Membership, Texas State University Alumni Association
Jeremy Schwartz, Investigative Reporter, Austin American-Statesman
Taylor Shanklin, VP Product Marketing and Strategy, Pursuant
Matt Shoewalter, Associate Copywriter, DigitasLB
Dr. Gigi Taylor, Consumer Researcher, Freelance Consultant
Kristine Toma, University Archivist and Records Manager, Alkek Library - Public History Program, Texas State University

Erika Toney, Web Developer, Rainman Creative
Allie Watters, Community Experience Coordinator, Whataburger
Olivia Williams, Account Planner, GSD&M
Mark Wilson, Breaking News Reporter, Austin American-Statesman

Names in gold are alumni.